First Look – PETE’S DRAGON trailer

I have to admit, I’m not a fan of the original 1977 PETE’S DRAGON. Sure I have a soft spot in my heart for Elliott, the lovable animated dragon, but as a whole I don’t like the movie. PETE’S DRAGON was one of those movies my parents would rent for me on a Friday night because there would be nothing better left at the video store. What a let down it was when they would return home with that plain brown case and I would open it to see PETE’S DRAGON. Anyway, I could probably devote a whole post to the hate of PETE’S DRAGON (like Red Buttons, the whole Gogan Family, and my general dislike of Mickey Rooney.) but that’s not what this is. This is hopefully a new day and a new outlook for me on a beloved Disney Classic.

 

 

Here’s the synopsis from Disney and I have to say I’m a little excited…

“For years, old wood carver Mr. Meacham (Robert Redford) has delighted local children with his tales of the fierce dragon that resides deep in the woods of the Pacific Northwest. To his daughter, Grace (Bryce Dallas Howard), who works as a forest ranger, these stories are little more than tall tales…until she meets Pete (Oakes Fegley). Pete is a mysterious 10-year-old with no family and no home who claims to live in the woods with a giant, green dragon named Elliott. And from Pete’s descriptions, Elliott seems remarkably similar to the dragon from Mr. Meacham’s stories. With the help of Natalie (Oona Laurence), an 11-year-old girl whose father Jack (Wes Bentley) owns the local lumber mill, Grace sets out to determine where Pete came from, where he belongs, and the truth about this dragon. Disney’s “Pete’s Dragon” opens in U.S. theaters on August 12, 2016.”

Here’s to hoping it doesn’t include the Gogan Family. Opens August 12th, 2016.

5 thoughts on “First Look – PETE’S DRAGON trailer

  1. I have to agree this was the kinda crap my parents thought I would love growing up and it was flaming pile of crap. I am very reserved on this new take we shall see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

