LOGAN Teaser Trailer Arrives…And I Reflect On My History With Wolverine.

I really don’t know what to think about this trailer, or this movie. Sadly I have never read the Old Man Logan comics, but I do know this looks nothing like it. The whole melon collie tone to the trailer definitely doesn’t get me pumped but it does get me interested. I’m a fan of Hugh Jackman as Wolverine and I really enjoyed The Wolverine, but honestly the whole 20th Century FOX mutant universe has left me cold (other than Deadpool…he da bomb).

But this could be a great movie, and I really hope it is.

Watch the trailer…my rant is below if ya wanna skip it.

 

Looks like a good movie, no doubt, but it’s just more affirmation that MY Wolverine is long gone. With his death in the comics and with X23 as the new Wolverine, I have to finally admit that my golden age of comics is long gone. I’m glad that Marvel has shaken things up and made comics interesting for a new generation of readers but after watching this trailer with its somber tone and the impending exit of Jackman, I know now that my Wolverine is fading into history. But I knew my Wolverine was gone a long time ago.

subscriptionad-wolverine.jpeg.jpeg
He looks so happy!

This picture is the first time I saw Wolverine. It was in a G.I. JOE comic and as a young kid in 1983 I had so many questions about who this dude was, and about his claws (mostly I wanted to know if he could shoot them). At that time in my life I was mostly reading Marvel’s kid line of comics, known as STAR. STAR was where I was reading Ewoks, Planet Terry, Droids, and some odds and ends that all fell under the STAR name. I was also reading G.I. Joe comics from Marvel hardcore. But other than those few titles I was mostly reading older, ;60s and ’70s titles from DC that were my uncles. I knew more about Black Hawk than I knew about the Avengers, X-Men, and Fantastic Four combined.

It wasn’t until years later I was “allowed” to pick out my own comics from the book and card store near our house. It was the evening of my grandmother’s funeral. We were on our way home and my parents needed to stop at the grocery store next to the book and card store. While my parents ran into the grocery store to get milk or whatever they said I could browse the book and card. I scanned the comics and that’s when I saw the comic that would change my life forever.

wolverine.jpg

Here was the dude from that comic ad that I saw and he’s fighting Spider-Man!! It blew my fragile ten year old mind. I needed to have it! When my parents returned to fetch me I quickly showed them the comic and surprising they got it for me. I guess they didn’t care about the steep $2.50 price tag because of all we’ve been through since my grandmother passed days before.

I was hooked. I went back to the book and card days later with my allowance in tow and discovered the X-Men, and what a doozy it was too. X-Men #215 was kinda light on Wolverine but the focus of the story was on Storm. Storm (then mohawked and leader) was in a cat and mouse game of death with Crimson Commando, Super Sabre, and Stonewall. It was a very gritty story that unnerved me in some ways but it had me come back month after month.

Uncanny215.jpg

Soon at the local library I found the Dark Phoenix graphic novel and it introduced me to an even deeper world of X-Men and mutant lore. It was a ground breaking story and is one that I reread annually. But this was the first time I saw Wolverine be a complete and utter BADASS. That graphic novel was my bible for so many years.

uncanny-x-men-132-pic1-wolverine
An image that will stay with me FOREVER

The things I loved about Wolverine don’t sell comics nowadays. I loved how in the ’70s and ’80s Wolverine was at peace with who he was. He would be chilling in a hammock with a beer sporting cutoff jeans and a cowboy hat while the younger members of X-Men would be having a pool party. He was a killer and he was at peace because it was his job and duty to kill. He was the father figure, older brother, and cool uncle all wrapped up into one, who also happened to be an unstoppable machine of death.He was a ladies man, gentleman, and a brute. He was the archetype shared by dozens of cowboys in westerns, detectives in pulp magazines, and warriors of fantasy novels. He had a tortured past and soul but he didn’t let it define him. Sure he suffered from unbridled rage from time to time, but who doesn’t.

Havok__Wolverine_-_Meltdown_Wolverine_x2.jpg
Havok and Wolverine: Meltdown. One of the best Wolverine designs and stories.

It wasn’t until years later that Marvel made his past define him. That to me was the beginning of the end of MY Wolverine. We didn’t need to explore his past, I was content with the possibilities of who he could’ve been and how old he was. We would get glimpses of paintings at a museum and “Wow, there’s Wolverine as a Viking”. I feel like the character of Wolverine was crushed under the weight of his own past. Different writers wanted to leave their mark on an unmarked character and it ultimately killed him. His past was up for debate once and it was fun to think of all the adventures Logan could have been on, minus bone claws.

I take it back, bone claws were the beginning of the end.

I have a lot of history with the character of Wolverine and all of the X-Men. I hate that I can’t shake a certain feeling I got at a certain point of my life, but I can’t change that. I have MY Wolverine and the world can have THEIR Wolverine. Everyone is right and everyone wins because everybody can still enjoy the comics or movies that they want. I’m sure Logan will be a good movie but its a far departure from the Wolverine that I loved as a kid. I understand in order to survive things need to change and I respect that. But I’ll be sitting over here reading my Dark Phoenix Saga and Frank Miller Wolverine graphic novels.

73c59842d49d90079382686f5129b6bd.jpg

 

13 thoughts on “LOGAN Teaser Trailer Arrives…And I Reflect On My History With Wolverine.

  1. When I was younger I used to wonder why people who were way older would quit buying a book that they had read for years because of one issue or another. Now I understand. Wolverine is probably the best example of a character ca lapsing under its own weight. Price of stardom I guess. What is wrong with having a character who doesn’t have a origin.

    Like

    1. When they did the Origin mini-series everyone said Marvel was doing it before the movies made one up. Now we know 10 years (more or less) later that movies and comics can live in two separate spaces without effecting one another, to the fans at least. I was happy enough with Marvel digging into Logan’s past enough to tell us about his Weapon X years or the one off stories of him running around during WW II with Cap, but they really lost me by going back to the very, very beginning and screwing the pooch to boot. I think they could have left some fantasy to it but at that time “reality” in comics was the “in” thing so they did the realist thing they could have and it took the “comic book” outta one of the most comic book charaters ever.

      Like

  2. I greatly appreciate this post. I get so saddened by the anger and resentment often voiced by comic fans when a movie adaptation or contemporary story arc in a comic cause a character to deviate from how they “are supposed to be.” The attitude you present here should be the standard bearer for all of comic fandom. You have “your’ Wolverine and he will always be closest to your heart but you can appreciate the others. I feel that way about Spidey. The whole “One More Day” thing didn’t click with me and I don’t really read him regularly but I’m not angered by the existence of those stories. As you said, I have MY Spidey and others have theirs. And that’s how all this should be! Thank you, thank you, thank you for a fantastic, meaningful, and very important post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Most of the time I’ve taken an “Else Worlds” type approach to comic movies and TV but I have to admit sometimes “its all I can stands, and I can’t stands no more” on some of the handling of the films. But all-in-all I just feel lucky because I still remember the days of straight to video movies like Captain America and zero comic book love. Hell, today comics are everywhere and it’s awesome. We will always have our comic pasts and the great thing is we can always reread and relive them. Comics are a great time machine but like everything, things change and sadly you can either move forward or be content to live in the past. Sorry to ramble…thank you so much!!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I don’t think this is rambling at all. In fact, I was actively cheering you along as I read. Again, I couldn’t agree more. This is the PERFECT perspective for the cultural climate we’re in especially with, as you said, the rise of comic culture. I’m going to start sharing your piece with everyone I know who gripes about this stuff. I’ll say it again, thank you for your perspective. It gives me hope for our fandom!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree to some extent. The issue with Wolverine is one were he was used every were for the last thirty years. Guest appearances with OG Guardians “Whaaa” or he was a alternate member of FF? He was a X-man, he was a member of Alpha Flight, he was an Avenger. Oh and he was a ninja, a soldier, black opps, hell he might even been a Smurf at this point. You can truly beat a dead horse. Yes every generation has their version of a character but you can skewer the character so bad that the only thing left is to kill him, or break his back, or make him go mad and come back as a villain or remove the signature of the character and give him bone claws? The one thing that comics suffer from now is saturation where as the writers grew up reading comics from writers who read comics from writers who read comics from guys who were just trying to earn a paycheck. As result you get this amalgamated mess that with some characters it proverbially ruins them. There will never be another Chris Claremont and that’s not a bad thing but quit reinventing the wheel. It spins its a circle Brilliant.

    Alas this conversation will be had again in 10 years only with Deadpool. They will will find some real douche way of killing him.

    Like

    1. I agree. But I mas waxing nostalgic about a certain time frame of Wolverine that was honestly around for less time than the cameo machine he became. I wasn’t really talking about the industry, I was talking about how I felt. I was also just saying the blame was on me for feeling the way I did while watching the trailer because I know how the industry works and I can’t blame them for how I felt, because they need to make money. That’s what it always was about, money. Fans spent their money on every appearance of Wolverine (or others, like Punisher), so Marvel kept doing it. The bottom dropped and fans blamed Marvel when in truth the fans (me included) created the problem by buying, buying, buying. So they kept using the characters. But anyway, I was simply just saying that I’ve come to grips with MY Wolverine being gone and instead of bitching about it, I’ll do something constructive like reading the books I love from the past. As always, thanks for your insight brother.

      Like

  4. Don’t get me wrong I know were you are coming from as far as the generational characters. I will always blame the industry for the lack of vision witch is the result to wax nostalgia. If you have to kill a character or remove his Adamantium to raise readership you’re writers are not good. As the fans that they are trying appease to make the money you referenced then there responsibility is to deliver a product preferably of quality. They don’t and have not (print wise) for some time. You’re issues are with Wolverine mine are with to many characters to count. My point is go out side the industry (comic) and get some great writers. Both of the houses have numerous pools to pull from as far as writing talent. Imagine what Ernest Cline could do with Wolverine or Joe Hill. That way you don’t have to write you’re homage to better days with this character and instead say man was last months Wolverine book great. Alas there is no right or wrong answer and I am glad you are at peace with it. Me and you did the only thing that any of them notice we quit buying.

    Like

Leave a Reply

