Wow, I’ve Been Nominated For The Sunshine Blogger Award!!

A big “Thank You” to Nancy and Kathleen over at Graphic Novelty2 for the nomination for the Sunshine Blogger Award. The Sunshine Blogger Award acknowledges “bloggers who are positive and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere”. I feel honored, especially by these awesome ladies. Please take a minute to check out their site and you’ll wish you had librarians this cool growing up. They’re into everything great in the world of geekdom, so what are you waiting for? Check ’em out…then come back, please.

First, the rules to accept the Sunshine Blogger Award:

  • Thank the person who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the eleven questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate eleven blogs * (or however many you want) to receive the award and write them eleven new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or your blog

Here are my Eleven Questions…

maxresdefault.jpg

1. Share a funny moment from your childhood.

Wow, a brain buster right off the bat. Sadly either through the passage of time or the fact that my childhood was…different, I can’t recall too many funny moments. But I think I have one.

Once while staying with my Aunt, my Uncle yelled out from the kitchen “God Damnit”. Usually a quiet man, my Uncle wasn’t known to exclaim anything loudly so My Aunt, Cousins, and I ran to see what was wrong. There in the kitchen my Uncle stood with a tin of Christmas cookies in his hand. He than held the tin out for us to see and said “Look at this.” In the tin were cookies, just cookies with more fur than Chewbacca. My Uncle than followed with “No wonder I’ve had diarrhea, I’ve been eating these.” My Aunt than asked the question we all had, “Why have you been eating these? They’re moldy.” His answer, “Well, I’ve been sneaking out here at night and eating them in the dark.”

Sorry, not the most funny story in the world but I think there’s a moral there somewhere.

2. Which is your most memorable trip that you took?

This one is easy. The most memorable trip I’ve ever taken was my Honeymoon. My Wife and I went to Antigua. Among a lot of memorable experiences from the trip, it was my first time flying and the first time I ever really went on a vacation at all. We stayed at the Sandals resort there and it felt like a summer camp, just with endless alcohol and buffets. It was an island paradise like you read about and I can’t wait until we can go back.

grande_antigua-1555.jpg

After a great week there we then flew to Orlando and spent a few days at Universal Studios. This leg of the Honeymoon was also full of “first times” for me. The biggest was that it was the first time I ever rode a roller coaster. I didn’t have much of a choice, but I thank my wife now for making me get on them.

These two weeks are something my Wife and I reflect on often, especially now that we have kids. The memories are nice moments of Zen to help get us through the days sometimes. But I have to add that every trip we’ve taken with the kids to the Outer Banks has been memorable for millions of different reasons.

3. What is your most anticipated book release?

Eek, another hard one. Sadly I don’t have the time or budget to read as much as I use to (this even includes comics). At the moment I still have Star Wars: Aftermath, half read, sitting on my bedside table.

But honestly the book I’m most interested to read (eventually) is the Thrawn novel by Timothy Zahn coming out this Spring. I think he is an amazing character and with his most recent appearances on Star Wars: Rebels this season, I’m totally ready to revisit this character again after the ’90s.

4. Is there a movie or TV series you liked better than the book?

Ok, I’m sure to get a ton of hate about this but I think Peter Jackson’s Hobbit Trilogy is better than the Hobbit book. It’s not so much that it’s better, but it’s much more fantastic up on the big screen. Jackson gets a lot of flack for the movies being bloated but honestly I want to spend as much time as possible in Middle Earth, so to me they were over way to quickly.

hobbit-dwarves.jpg

The action and set pieces were straight outta a D&D campaign and I loved them for that alone. I also liked the fact that the Dwarves were all characters in their own right (I love me some Dwarves) and showed a different side of Dwarves that we’re not use to seeing. Great movies, different from Mr. Jackson’s first foray into Middle Earth but awesome nonetheless.

5. In your opinion what is the most overrated film/series?

Easy, the X-Men films.

Oh, I guess I need to explain. Other than a few (very few) shining spots, I think the X-Men film series has really dropped the ball. I give it full credit for jump starting the whole comic book movie craze, but at the same time it hurt the comic industry. The whole “real” approach to comics was what drove me away from titles I used to love. I have always felt that a comic book was meant to be full of bright colors, costumes, and everything not real. Now that’s not to say that there haven’t been great comics missing these traits…anyways.

As comic movies have grown to be more comic book like (YAY!), the X-Men films have suffered under the direction of Bryan Singer and his crappy approach to try and add elements from the comics in a sloppy and “too little, too late” manner, all while keeping it boxed into the world he created in the first film. At its core X-Men was about an outcast “family” that balanced fun with drama (one moment a pool party, the next fighting the Hellfire Club). Singer focused to much on the drama and finding allegories to interject within the story.  If anything needs a reboot, it’s these films…and under the watchful eye of Marvel.

6. In addition, what is the most underrated film/series you’ve encountered?

There are a ton of movies that I think are underrated. But I’ll focus on the first one that jumped into my mind, Salton Sea.

saltonseajpg.jpg

Released in 2002, Salton Sea is a kinetic movie in the vein of a Tarantino flick. It has great story beats, great characters, and beautiful violence. The movie has moments that play out in a very comic booky manner and it works beautifully to tell the story. The best part though is when the world around Val Kilmer’s character begins spiraling out of control the story flips in a very organic twist that mixes up the plot in a great way. Give it a watch.

But while I’m talking about Val Kilmer, another underrated movie I love is Willow…sorry. I’ll save that for another day.

7. Have you ever watched all the movies a particular actor or actress is in?

The simple answer is, No. If there was one person I’ve seen all (or most) of their work it would have to be Peter Jackson.

Over the years there have been many actors and directors that have really stood out to me. I have made many valiant efforts in trying to watch their full catalogs but for one reason or another I gave up the good fight.

8. Any museums you like to frequent?

There are a few I like, but never get to them frequently.

I love driving down to DC and spending time at The Smithsonian. It encompasses dozens of buildings and I’m sure I haven’t seen them all. Another museum I like is the Graveyard of the Atlantic museum in Hatteras, NC. Sunken ships and pirates are always awesome. Also, it might not be a museum but I love going to Gettysburg (only 20 minutes from my house) and walking the battlefields. So much history and its highlighted with beautiful statues and memorials. Also the natural sights like Devil’s Den are pretty awesome too.

9. What was your first car?

A blue ’82 Volkswagen Jetta.

I loved that car. Picked it up when it was already 10 years old. The interior was this denim like material that could really take a beating and it had a ton of little storage compartments. Only lasted like a year before the transmission blew up. Spent my savings on the car, didn’t have enough to repair it. Had to get a loan and a real job after that…boo.

10. Which movie is like a work of art to you?

I have two.Dark Crystal and Pan’s Labyrinth.

photostudio_1478024676217.jpg

Both movies are straight from the artist’s minds and teleport us into a world of pure imagination (sorry, Willy Wonka). del Toro takes us to a very real place in the history of Spain but invites us into a dark and beautiful fantasy world that is populated with creatures that could come from nowhere else but del Toro’s imagination. Pan’s Labyrinth is a breath taking yet heart breaking movie that makes us want to believe in fairy tales with all of our hearts just so there can be a happy ending.

The Dark Crystal is something that has never been made before or after. It is a world built from the ground up using only puppets and imagination. Jim Henson and Frank Oz took us to an almost alien world that has no ties to the human realm what-so-ever but we still can believe in these characters and feel their emotions. The Dark Crystal is a classic that should have set the stage for a new way to make films, but sadly it didn’t.

11. Which movie or TV series is your guilty pleasure?

Being a Daddy, my TV viewing comes after Mommy and the kids get their fill. To combat this while my shows linger in DVR purgatory, I have adapted to their whims and I garner pleasure from what they watch. Is it ideal? No. Is it entertaining? Sure.

So I’ve gotten to the point where I get excited to watch a new Blaze and the Monster Machines, Bubble Guppies, or Sofia the First. Or in my wife’s case Dancing With the Stars or…we’ll leave it at that. Don’t want to hurt my credibility to much.

So my guilty pleasures are kids shows and whatever “reality” TV my wife is watching.But as far as what I like, nothing to feel guilty about…I’m a dork after all.

Blaze-and-the-Monster-Machines-post1.jpg

Now, My Nominations…

It seems I’m as much a introvert online as I am in the real world. I kinda keep to myself,  but these are some of the blogs I love. And if they have already received this award, they deserve it again.

Battle Ram: A He-Man Blog

Universal Dork

Magazines & Monsters

Views From The Sofa

Zok! Pow!

and my latest follower… Wolfstor

 

Here’s Your Questions…

1. What is your favorite season?

2. What was your favorite toy growing up?

3. Who was your favorite character from comic, TV, movie, or book growing up?

4. Who is your favorite character now?

5. Do you collect anything that surprises people when you tell them?

6. What book or comic would you like to see done as a movie or TV series?

7. Do you have any nerdy, dorky, or geeky T-shirts that you wear with pride?

8. If you could only have one type of pizza for the rest of your life, what kind would it be?

9. What is your favorite comedy movie?

10. In your honest opinion, what is the worst movie ever made?

11. What is your favorite kids cartoon TV show from the past 10 years?

 

Again, Thank you to the ladies over at Graphic Novelty2 . Keep up the good work and it’s an honor to be nominated for this awesome award!

untitled

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Wow, I’ve Been Nominated For The Sunshine Blogger Award!!

    1. Yes, I too have read that. It’s going to be interesting to see what happens but all the talk now is rebooting with the Dark Phoenix Saga, which is a great story but they’ve loosely tried telling that story before. And don’t get me wrong, I have enjoyed the X-Men movies but I think they could be loads better in this comic friendly world we live in. Singer was just very short sighted and didn’t want to break down the walls he created within the franchise. Also I’m just ticked that we got a glimpse of Wolverine’s costume at the end of The Wolverine and we’ll never get to see it, not Singer’s fault but my general sadness about the FOX X-Universe.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Congrats my friend couldn’t think of any one more deserving. Here here on the X-men slam.Last movie I fell asleep twice during it. Singer has become the Roland Emmerich of comic movies buy only ever scratching the surface of what could be. Would it be to much to have a few hoses on Apocalypse? Why cant Wolverine be in a costume? I’ll take the brown and yellow one. You shouldn’t always believe you’re own hype it can burn you (Superman Returns).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

