Unwrap The Teaser Trailer For Tom Cruise’s THE MUMMY!

Full disclosure, I’m not the biggest fan of Tom Cruise. Between his personal beliefs and not all his movies appealing to me, I tend to treat his movies just like any other. So just saying, he himself is not a selling point to me.

After all that, I have to say the teaser trailer for The Mummy looks pretty good. I really should have known better but I was surprised this takes place NOW. I guess I’m so pre-programmed by the Brendan Frasier trilogy that I assumed this would take place in the past.

Take a look…

Gone is the swashbuckling feel of the trilogy that started with 1999’s The Mummy, but I really dig the new action/adventure direction the reboot is taking.

Here’s a brief Synopsis…

Tom Cruise headlines a spectacular, all-new cinematic version of the legend that has fascinated cultures all over the world since the dawn of civilization: The Mummy.

Thought safely entombed in a tomb deep beneath the unforgiving desert, an ancient princess (Sofia Boutella of Kingsman: The Secret Service and Star Trek Beyond) whose destiny was unjustly taken from her is awakened in our current day, bringing with her malevolence grown over millennia and terrors that defy human comprehension.

And Here’s a Pretty Kickass Poster…

8FVMB0NL.jpg

The movie was directed by Alex Kurtzman and also stars Annabelle Wallis (Peaky Blinders), Jake Johnson (Jurassic World), Courtney B. Vance (The People V. O.J. Simpson), and Russell Crowe (Gladiator).

The Mummy will rise from her tomb June 9, 2017

12 thoughts on “Unwrap The Teaser Trailer For Tom Cruise’s THE MUMMY!

  1. I was going to make a running scene joke but you already beat me to it!! Hahaha, well played. I am really intrigued by this movie though, and the whole interconnected “Monster Universe” that Universal’s trying to put together. It can get awkward, I’m sure, but it also has the potential to be really exciting!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, it is very interesting that they are going the “shared universe” route and I hope it is awesome, but when they did the same thing in the ’40s and ’50s we got team-ups with Abbott and Costello.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooooo yeah, good point. We must be cautious then! I wonder what the modern incarnation of that would be? Penn and Teller? Colin Mochrie and Ryan Stiles? Adam Sandler and Rob Schneider? Actually…now you have me even more curious as to how this venture will play out!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. LOL…sorry, I didn’t mean to scare anybody. I honestly love Abbott and Costello and their couple of team-ups with the Universal Monsters were a constant rental for me growing up. But you are right, who do we have nowadays that could fit the bill of a modern version of Abbott and Costello. Sadly I think comedic duos of their caliber are long gone.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. What’s great is the juxtaposition of two wildly different genres. I agree, the type of comedy they did isn’t really something we get today (nor would I put them in the same caliber as those I jokingly mentioned 🙂 ). But I wonder who could serve as such a tonal shift for the modern Universal Monsterscape…should they eventually go down that road.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Something to truly ponder. It’ll be hard to have a comparable comedian or comedians in contemporary Hollywood because innocence was part of the driving factor in the style of humor Abbott and Costello or Marx Brothers used. Humor today is too blunt force and bawdy. Sadly when people try to throwback to the golden age of comedies they don’t make money (even though I love ’em). Don’t get me wrong, I like a lot of new comedies but if you’re just going to add “dick” and “fart” jokes to a horror movie you’re just going to get another Scary Movie movie.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. I agree. I think part of the problem with that sort of humor is it’s so EASY. You’re talking down to your audience and going for the quick, least common denominator type of joke. Can they be funny? Of course. Should it be the main driving force of most comedies? I wish it wasn’t. We can expect and enjoy more from our comedies! I like how you framed the Abbott and Costello humor too – there was an innocence to it that we don’t really know how to model today.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Now I’m gonna spend the whole day thinking about those great comedies. Totally got away from the beginning of this discussion. Yes, Tom Cruise runs a lot and a shared universe could be cool 😛

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Don’t think to much it will probably be Channing Tatum and Jonah Hill and it will be called twenty monster scare street or some dumb shit. Or Will Ferrell and who ever the latest hot actor (insert name here) is in Hollywood.But be sure at some point it will go that way. Nothing new under the sun.

    Like

Leave a Reply

