Marvel Has Made Spider-Man Amazing Again!!

When speaking about a live-action Spider-Man, the character’s involvement in movies and television (for those old enough to remember) has varied, but all the same beats remain. Sometimes he’s a teen, but he has always been portrayed as somewhat awkward, a photographer, and able to crawl on walls. Since 1977 when Nicholas Hammond  put on the tights for the CBS television show, we have had our fair share of Spider-Man (men?) over the proceeding 39 years.

Cobbled together with aspects of the Tobey Maguire and Andrew Garfield versions of the character, we’ve seen what Spider-Man could be. Maguire brought the awkwardness and emotion while Garfield brought the teen angst and action. So between the two iterations, I’ve been happy with Spider-Man movies (other than most of the villains). So what more could they possibly do with this character that we haven’t seen before (same argument with Batman as well) over the years? It hasn’t been perfect, but I’ve been satisfied.

That was until I saw the trailer for Spider-Man: Homecoming. Sometimes it’s the small things that cause the biggest ripples. The accent, the humor, and the fact we finally have an honest to god teen playing the character (I take that back, he’s 20…close enough). Tom Holland looks 100% perfect to play Spider-Man and I feel like it’s hard to remember those other Spider-Man movies existed.

Take a look here…

This looks to balance the action-packed adventure of our friendly neighborhood Spider-Man and the ins-and-outs of teenagers navigating high school. I am so on board.

Thank you Marvel for bailing Sony out and making a great movie.

Spider-Man: Homecoming arrives in theaters July 7, 2017.

7 thoughts on “Marvel Has Made Spider-Man Amazing Again!!

  1. Please done’t ever say that you have been pleased with the Batman movies. “Lets kick some Ice” oh god the pain. Homecoming looks fantastic and it brings one of the major franchises back to Marvel. If only FF could be next. I like the fact that they are not re-treading the villains and starting with some one who has not been used in any of the previous films.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. I would usually not like modernization but Vulture looks great…hell it’s Batman himself. No, I was saying just so many different Batman movies not that I liked them all….sheesh

      Like

  2. WOW, this trailer was awesome! I was a bit hesitant about the new Spider-Man movie, but if this is anything to go by, Marvel are onto another winner! I love the look of the Vulture as well — one of my fave Spidey villains, and that finale scene in the trailer!! Looks fun 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, Marvel has proved time and time again that they can balance heart, humor, heroics while taking you on a rollercoaster ride of action and emotion. I really wish others would take a page from their book. But at the end of the day I’m living my childhood dream of having my comics come to life!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The Marvel films always seem to get that balance of comic book action and characterization just right. Been awesome to see so many great superhero films and TV series now, these are indeed great times. Super excited for Spider-Man Homecoming :

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I always get the sense that there is a love for the project from the people who are doing it at Marvel. I know for a fact that is not always the way at DC/TW. The Michael Keaton Christian Bale batman films were good because the people involved loved the characters. I think it is telling that the Flash movie can not keep a director.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

