The Blogger Recognition Award

Graphic Novelty² have bestowed onto me another award. I thank them from the bottom of my heart for this award and for thinking my dumb little blog is something special. Thank you!!

Take some time and check out Graphic Novelty²  for some of the best reviews about comic books, young adult novels, and other great geek culture musings.

The Rules:

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
2. Write a post to show your award.
3. Give a brief story of how your blog started.
4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
5. Select other bloggers you want to give this award to.
6. Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

ewok01

And in the Beginning There Were Ewoks…

I had always toyed with the idea of starting a blog. Ever since I was a kid I loved to write and I used that passion to Dungeon Master and Game Master a slew of different games throughout a plethora of different gaming systems. I loved creating different worlds and scenarios and I tried to use that to do some creative writing. Long story short, I cracked under the pressure and treaded water more than make actual progress.As I got older I didn’t have time to game anymore and my dreams of writing disappeared.

One evening I decided to put on the Star Wars made for TV movies about those cuddly and deadly Ewoks for my daughter. We both loved the movies and I had something grew deep within me that I needed to talk about it. After I put my daughter to bed and checked in on my son I hopped in front of the computer and just started writing. I had no idea what I was writing for, I just needed to write. I needed to tell the world that the movies were great and they were even better seen through the eyes of your children.

It felt great after putting writing on the back burner for so long. So I decided to look into blogging. When I researched it the first thing I read was “there are a millions blogs, you won’t stand out. Why even bother trying.” Instantly the wind was knocked outta my sails.

By happenstance I had some of my notes laying around when my friend Chris (CoachDaddy) and his family were visiting. At the top of the paper it said “blog name:My Side Of The Laundry Room?”. The rest of that night he was trying to talk me into it. So I did it and now it’s very close to a whole year later. As for that Ewok piece, it’s still sitting on the computer…waiting.

That was not very brief, so I guess I all ready broke the rules…sorry.

image3

Advice Column:

The first piece of advice I can give is…BE YOU! Remember what I said above about reading about being “one in a million so why bother”? It’s true, kinda. You will be one in a million but that’s life. But what makes life beautiful and different is YOU. Only you can tell the story of your life. I have chosen to tell that story through toys, cartoons, and comic books (and other forms of dork culture). Those are my experiences with those geek trinkets and that is the story I tell. Sure, I mix in some facts and figures about…well, figures sometimes, but that in my eyes helps to paint a backdrop that you are setting yourself into. One problem I have in social situations is over explaining myself but for the sake of writing I think it works well. Even when I do a post on a movie trailer I tend to skip over all the Hollywood hoopla and just tell the readers I feel about it and what experiences I have with the subject. That’s how you would talk about it with your friends, so that’s how I talk about it here.

As for a second bit of advice, I would say do what feels right to you. At first I had a whole architecture planned of columns I would write and a weekly schedule I would keep. After a couple months I had a hard time keeping to a schedule because my daddy/husband schedule trumped my blogging schedule. As for the columns, sometimes I write things that can’t be contained within a single box or honestly I’m not feeling what I’m writing about at the time. So I have adapted to having a loosey goosey framework. One day I’m writing about toys the next day about horror movies. I have at the moment 10 unfinished pieces in my drafts and they cover a myriad of different topics. I will hop around and peck away on different ones, working on whatever I feel is right for me at the time. My whole intention is to just write and feel whole again creatively. All of the other stuff like followers and likes will fall into place as you go. It may be a slow climb but it’s worth it. It’s your blog…do what you want…have fun…be your own artist.

44735d6f68d2bee2dec049d7ddf08491

My Nominations:

Vintage Toy Advertiser

Sci-Fi Jubilee

Battle Ram

MovieBabble

 

Thanks again to Graphic Novelty²  for the award.

Keep Being Rad & Stay Dorky

Rob

600px-778Mimikyu.png

 

13 thoughts on “The Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Congratulations on your award and thank you for the nomination as well. You have a great blog, always enjoy visiting and reading your posts. Interesting to read how you started blogging. You’ve got it just right there Rob when you say be yourself and – most importantly – have fun blogging, because that’s what makes running a blog so special 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on the award Rob! It’s very well deserved. I’m so happy you decided to jump back into writing. You are a natural writer and you have such a clear, developed, and distinct written voice. No matter what you post is about, it’s always a joy to read. I know I tell you this often but I just adore your stuff and this post was no exception!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, sir. You humble me with all of the support and praise. I respect you and your brilliant writing, so hearing your kind words warms my heart. I also have to commend you on fighting the good fight recently. Your efforts have been tireless and eye opening. So thank you for that!!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. It’s been an emotionally draining/charged week or so but I feel much better doing what I’m doing. (I’m presently in the process of trying to figure out when I “stop reading the news” each night so I can relax a little before bed :). ) On a brighter note, I almost always want to go pull out my old action figures when I’m done reading your posts. I imagine setting up my He-Man or Ninja Turtles on my coffee table and just staging epic battles!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Before kids (or B.K. for short) I would watch old G.I. Joe cartoons and just go through all my boxes of Joe’s. I would find all the Joe’s in that episode and play with them…lol. Now I have a blast playing with my kids and their toys. They ain’t touching mine yet lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s funny because, not having kids, I think about that sometimes. I think, “Wow, if I have kids it will be so cool to relive all of this with them!” Then I think, “And they can play with all my old [fill in whatever I’m thinking of at the moment]!” Then I think, “Uhh…well, we’ll see…” So I can appreciate where you’re coming from!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I think about sharing my collection of plastic nostalgia with my kids all the time. Some of my newer things I have acquired I have dropped into their toy boxes. But honestly they are still a little too rough with their stuff to play with my older things. Some things in my Star Wars, G.I. Joe, etc… collections I have had for almost 40 years. One day I will share those with them but for now I don’t want to feel resentment because they break something from just simply playing with it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

