Year One – October 2016

I kicked off October with something very un-Halloween, Rob Liefield. Well I guess it’s kinda Halloweenie because all of his characters look like horror versions of the human body. I’ll let the article do the rest of the talking but I need to add how pissed I get about this guy taking any of the praise the Deadpool movie got.

xlarge

In Honor Of YOUNGBLOOD’s 25th Anniversary…

Now back to real horror and Halloween. I did a lot of Halloween posts in October and I can’t put them all here. I’ll focus on my favorites for the month and if you would like to read more you can click on the link at the bottom of this page or on the Halloween tab to your right in the categorize bar.

Horror movies nowadays don’t really do a good job at scaring me but things were different when I was younger. Silver Bullet wasn’t the best horror movie ever made but it’s a movie that I will always love. It was the first movie to plaque me with nightmares and told me that being a kid wasn’t enough to save me unlike other horror movies I watched.

wrightson-cycle-of-the-werewolf

Stephen King’s Silver Bullet

On the subject of horror movies I did a 2 part article on some of the most overlooked gems of horror of the ’80s and ’90s. These were fun posts to write because I had to really think about all of the horror movies I’ve seen over the years.

cemetery_man_death

Top 5 Most Overlooked Horror Movie Gems From The ’80s & ’90s

5 More Overlooked Horror Movie Gems From The ’80s

To get away from Halloween a little bit I wrote a piece on time that role playing games broke through to the main stream and were presented in a positive light to TV viewers and movie watchers. For years role playing games have caught a bad rap and it’s always nice to see it being portrayed as something other than demonic or scary.

jrgqro9.jpeg

Top 5 Times Role Playing Games Made It Mainstream.

With the release of the first Logan trailer I had to reflect on my history with the character of Wolverine. Wolverine was one of the characters that made me a comic dork back in elementary school. He has gone through a lot of changes over the years for the simple sake of selling more comics. The movie Logan seems to match the finality of the comic version of Logan and to be honest it makes me sad.

 

uncanny-x-men-132-pic1-wolverine

LOGAN Teaser Trailer Arrives…And I Reflect On My History With Wolverine.

Again I return to a good place and talk about toys. This time I focus on the monster and creepy toys I wanted as a kid but never got.

inhumanoids1

Toys I Wish I Had As A Kid – Halloween Edition

In October we got our first trailer for the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie, a first look at Netflix’s Iron Fist, a trailer Netflix’s awesome cartoon Troll Hunters, a sneak peek at Guardians of the Galaxy Vol.2, we also got a new Rogue One trailer, and we got word that Disney Junior was bring back The Muppet Babies!

To read all the Halloween posts that didn’t make this list or any of the other news from October, click on the link.

October 2016

Leave a Reply

