Year One – January 2016

Since January was only a month ago and still fresh in our minds, I decided to do something a little different for my last anniversary post. First I want to go over some of the changes the site has gone through over the past year

First, the header image for this post was my very first picture I had for the header image for the site. As far as pictures go, a lot has changed. Just check out the picture I have now, I learned to pose some more figures, added some dice, and also added variety to what toys I have out. Everything from Pokémon to Usagi with a backdrop of some of the graphic novels I have up on the shelf. All of which is me in a nut shell.

cropped-20160218_05213411.jpg
Before

 

cropped-wp-14839765285991.jpg
After

 

Also as time went by over the year I started to get familiar with a cool little graphic app on my phone that has allowed me to do simple things like drop in text, add filters, and do some split screen stuff. I think the first time I used it was on my Blazing Flippers post I did and I still love that picture I did. I started by finding an old picture of a Joust arcade screen, added an aged photo filter, and dropped in some neon-like text.

photostudio_1456492296596.jpg

Another thing that changed over the course of a year was the layout and design of the site. When I first started I went with a really cool dark background template that offered up my posts in a tile like format. It was a great template to start with but over time I wanted a brighter and more inviting layout. I think I have one now that fits the bill and i really like it too.

FiendFolio.jpg

Also with the “new year” I hope to start a couple weekly features. At first I’m starting small with one weekly feature. Starting on Monday March 6, 2017 (…ish) I will have Monstrous Mondays. What Monstrous Mondays will be (I hope) is a weekly spotlight on a monster or creature from the worlds of Comic Books, Role Playing Games, Movies, Cartoons, Video Games, and “Real Life”. Monsters are a subject that is near and dear to my heart and they run through all the veins of dork culture as much as through my veins. So we’ll see how it goes. But honestly I don’t want to add too many weekly things because I love flying by the seat of my pants and writing about whatever pops into my head. Sometimes things don’t pop because of outside static and that really bums me out, but that’s life here on My Side Of The Laundry Room.

wp-1486989483238.jpg

Another feature I would like to do is the “Unearthed Arcana”. Taking it’s name from one of my favorite D&D books and a recent post I did, Unearthed Arcana would be a feature that focuses on my personal history of a certain subject. Some of the ones I have in the works feature an indie comic from the ’80s I adored, a few gaming books, and the famous (but not at the time) Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I feel the name “Unearthed Arcana” works because I’m uncovering my secret history of things from my childhood and beyond. So hopefully if you liked my D&D piece, you’ll like what I have coming up. Of course at this moment it sounds like everything else I do already, mix a little bit of fact with a little bit of personal stories with a pinch of old fashion bullshit, LOL.

So in a nutshell, nothing’s really going to change over here on My Side Of The Laundry Room.

I have to be honest, which I often am…to a fault (did you read that Littles post?). I originally had a whole different post planned for this one. I wanted to do some pictures of my side of the laundry room and have a little “show and tell”. I’m proud of my little area in our house almost as much as I’m proud of this little area on the internet. I also wanted to just give everyone a glimpse of my ZEN. I thought it would be cool to label the pictures with some of the highlights…lets just say I had stuff planned. At the last minute I found myself with no time to take better pictures, clean up some of the “catch-all” areas, and label them. Oh well, there’s always next year. Here are a few though, just please don’t mind the empty kitty litter jug.

wp-1488199569231.jpg

So now as I wrap this up I want to say “THANK YOU” to everybody and anybody that has stopped by My Side Of The Laundry Room. This year has been amazing. I have met so many wonderful people and (I think) I’ve made some truly supportive friends. The support I have received over the past year has been staggering. I grew up not getting a lot of support and sadly that feeling of worthlessness has carried over into my adult life. It has been a long journey to be able to say on some days that I kinda, sorta am worth just a little bit. The “likes”, “follows”, and comments from total strangers helps a ton. I want to tell each and everyone of you THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart.

Keep Being Rad & Stay Dorky,

Rob

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Year One – January 2016

    1. Photo Studio PRO…not a super duper one but it gets the job done. I wish it could do a little more but its so easy to use that I haven’t looked to actively into getting another one. They also update fonts and stuff often.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Oooo…I’m excited about the new series you’re talking about! The both sound exciting. Also, i really enjoyed the pictures of your side of the laundry room. The various items either a) filled me with awe (that’s so cool!) or b) filled me with nostalgia (I remember/have that too!!).

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too! I can’t set a schedule for any of my little series. I just write about it when I feel like posting on the topic. For me, I’ve found a weekly schedule leads to creative fatigue. I’ve even realized that with my New American Resistance posts. I’m passionate about it but I needed a break this week to keep myself from suffering emotional/activist burn out. I’m always impressed when I see someone try to do a weekly thing because I know I can’t :).

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know it brother. I’m glad you’re taking a break. It has to be hard to confront that shit as much as you do. I’ll give it a shot on Mondays. These won’t be massive posts like usual. Just little ones to ease into the week with. I know man…I envy people that post a set schedule 7 days a week. 7 posts for 7 days….damn…machines lol

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Hahaha, I know! I’ve had to admit I’m too wordy to ever do a seven-in-seven schedule. I try to write little posts…but then I get excited and they turn into dissertations :). I did seven in a week once, ove summer vacation, and even on break by the end of it I was struggling! Haha, it’s just too much for me to handle.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

