F.N.V. – Lets Get This Party Started.

Long ago, in a world without MTV (Music Television) there once was a show that aired every Friday night on NBC called Friday Night Videos. Spawned from the live music showcase show The Midnight Special which ran from 1972 until 1981, Friday Night Videos began airing in 1983. Showcasing videos from the world of Pop, Rock, Rap, New Wave, and R&B, Friday Night Videos was were a majority of America turned to get their music news, interviews, and latest videos.

250px-FNV_logo_1

To be fair, MTV began in 1981 but cable television was such a rare thing that most people had no idea what it was. Today I have no idea what it is because I never see music on it, but that’s another story all together.

Back in the day I remember my parents stopping their adult game nights and everyone flocking to the TV to see “World Premiere” videos and exclusive interviews by some of the top acts in the world. I also remember after a series of videos Quite Riot was going to finally unmask their metal masked mascot in a world premiere exclusive. My parents and their friends all were waiting on the edge of the seats all night until the unmaking finally happened. I than remember how everyone was pissed that under the mask was the lead singer of Quiet Riot, the late Kevin DuBrow. I look back at that now and have to say, Duh!

Foto2404

Anyways, before this post gets away from me….

In honor of those awesome Friday nights of the ’80s and the start of the summer season I wanted to showcase a few videos of my own. Well, not MY own but some of the music and videos I love from the decade that I love, the ’80s. Throughout the summer months of May through September I will devote Fridays to the music of the 1980s. Every Friday I will have a few videos as well as some of my usual anecdotes and life stories.

So, to kick things off…

Working for the Weekend – Loverboy (1981)

What a great way to kick off ANY weekend. Loverboy’s Working For The Weekend. Coming from the bands second album Get Lucky, Working For The Weekend was the bands first hit. I remember my parents getting this on cassette with a subscription to Columbia House (remember Columbia House?). They also got 9 other tapes at the low, low price of a penny. This anthem of the working person became my Dad’s  favorite and I can only envision him breaking his stoic shell to rock the hell out to this awesome song.

 

Let’s Go – Wang Chung (1986)

After listening to Working For The Weekend on a Friday afternoon, speeding home from work, this is my next go to song for kicking the weekend off. Sadly my weekends have changed from cookouts and beer to chasing my kids and coffee. Wang Chung has a lot of great songs but their song Have Fun Tonight seems to be what they are known for. This video is ’80s to the MAX and should be a national treasure, by the way.

 

Howard Jones – New Song (1983)

I have to be honest, I only got into Howard Jones in the past 10 years. I definitely remember some of his hit songs but at the time I had no idea who sang them. To me this song just screams “freedom”. I don’t mean like ending a country’s oppression kinda freedom, I mean like run outta your work place and do a freeze framed jump into the air kina freedom.

 

Kenny Loggins – I’m Free (Heaven Help The Man) (1984)

Speaking of jumping into the air with a freeze frame! Kenny Loggins helped to forge a great number of number one hits that found homes on movie soundtracks for successful movies. Coincidence? I think not! The man can do no wrong and he did it all while rocking a majestic beard…so jealous.  Ever since the movie Footloose came out in 1984 I was a fan. Who can’t get behind a movie that sticks it to the man with dancing. How dare they outlaw the art of motion and romance!

 

So there you have it, the first installment of F.N.V.. I hope you enjoyed and it helps you get geared up for the weekend!!

To catch up on these and more awesome 80s songs please check out

My Side of the Laundry Room’s YouTube Playlist!

Just look, Kenny wants you to click!

14 thoughts on “F.N.V. – Lets Get This Party Started.

  1. Thanks for this!
    ALWAYS make time for 80s nostalgia.
    Was familiar w Working For The Weekend, but never knew who it was by
    Dance Hall Days was th only song by Wang Chung I knew – this was alright!
    New Song was th only song by Howard Jones I ever liked
    Am going to enjoy your next FNV Posts!
    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. It was! I’ve been telling my family and friends about how amazing your new series idea is. I foresee myself emailing the link to lots of people I know who appreciate the mind-blowing awesomeness of 80s music!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks for sharing the good word. I crunched the numbers and this series will last 20 more weeks (ending when we go to Disney and my Summer is over)…so 5 or more songs per week…thats over a 100 songs…I’m so excited.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. “We both lie silent and steely in the dead of the night. / Although we both lie close together, we feel miles apart inside. / Was it something I said or something I did? / Did my words not come out right? / Though I tried not to hurt you…though I tried. / I guess that’s why they say…”

        Ahhh, sooo many feels courtesy of the 80s!!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

