F.N.V. – Geography Lesson

Music is the heartbeat of the entire world, so it only makes sense that bands and performers would use names and places of the world for their band names or song titles. Many bands in the 1980s used places such as countries, continents, and landmarks to name themselves or their songs. Here is a small list of some of these great performers and great songs from the greatest decade EVER!

Europe – Rock The Night (1986)

I guess Europe could fall into the “Hair Metal” category but I never saw them as such. First, they didn’t have the edge that other acts like Motley Crue, RATT, or Cinderella. I mean come on, Motley Crue had a whole video about hanging out in a strip club…these dudes are hanging out in a Hard Rock Café and playing with their menus and rocking the house with spoon drum sticks and ketchup bottle guitars. Second, my dad loved Europe…Either way Europe had some great music and they were fun. This song is a great way to kick off the weekend!!

Toto – Africa (1982)

Toto, what can I say…um, how about EPIC. Toto had a few great hits but Africa is a song that is infamous for its awesomeness. Whenever I hear the first bars of this songs I am instantly transported to another time and place rooted squarely in the ’80s. In the early 80s a lot of great songs still thrived on a ’70s production sensibility and Africa is evidence of that. Oh, and it’s only week two and we have another awesome beard! and a stack of books for a stage…like I said EPIC.

 

Asia – Only Time Will Tell (1982)

Asia was another band my father loved. My dad was a huge Emerson, Lake, and Palmer fan (which I inherited) and when Carl Palmer left the band to play drums for Asia, my father went along too. A super band at the time, Palmer was joined by lead vocalist and bassist John Wetton of King Crimson, guitarist Steve Howe of Yes, and keyboardist Geoff Downes of Yes and The Buggles. Most of the band’s success can from their debut album in 1982, but they did have many more great songs throughout the years. The video is a good indication of the evolution music videos made, but to be honest it’s still better than most of the videos today.

 

Duran Duran – Rio (1982)

Is it just me or does 1982 seem like a very popular year for Geography based bands and songs? Anyway, Duran Duran…not really much can be said about this band that hasn’t been said before. They were everywhere during the early ’80s and their jet setting, model-like lifestyle really encapsulated the birth of the era of excess. Rio was just one of many hits from them and I can guarantee this won’t be the last time we see them on this summer odyssey of awesome music.

 

 Murray Head – One Night In Bangkok (1984)

Did you know that this song came from a musical written by Tim Rice and Benny Anderson and Bjorn Ulvaeus of ABBA called Chess? Me neither…kinda blows my mind. Rice who was known for musicals like Jesus Christ Superstar and some of Disney’s biggest hit songs of the ’90s wrote this along side the two dudes from ABBA. Let that sink in a second. Murray Head who sang the “rap” as they call it (what the hell) was an English actor and comedian while Anderson and Ulvaeus provided the chorus parts. I loved this song as a kid (still do) but it showcases a kitschy side of the ’80s that was really hit or miss. Either way, you pop this song on and the PARTY IS ON!!

 

I hope everyone has a great weekend!!

 

To catch up on these and more awesome 80s songs please check out

My Side of the Laundry Room’s YouTube Playlist!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “F.N.V. – Geography Lesson

  1. I was reading this post during my prep mod at work and two awesome things happened. First, it prompted the recollection of the time I sang Toto’s “Africa” in Karaoke Roulette (where everyone singing puts their name on a slip, turns it face down on the table, every picks one and chooses a song for them, and then you don’t know what you’re singing until you get up there and the music comes on). I loved the choice and have sang the song intentionally afterwards. Second, as I started playing “One Night In Bangcock” a friend of mine said, “Hey, did you know this was from the musical ‘Chess’? I know every word to this” and then proceeded to actually sing every word.

    So thank you for making Friday afternoon a little more exciting with some amazing musical choices!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love it. I remember all those songs. My mate who was a metalhead like me went to see Europe live and said it was one of the loudest and heaviest gigs he’d been to. I never much liked Duran Duran at the time, but now when I listen to them I’m transported back to such happy days and memories. They’re from Birmingham, my old UK hometown, and I used to see John Taylor working the desks at our local recording studios when we rehearsed there. Yep, happy days alright.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Man, that sounds awesome. Yeah, love or hate any of these songs at the time…they give my heart and soul such a charge. I feel nostalgia on a physical level at times and they’re all good. I’d love to hear about your history one day my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

