F.N.V. – The Eyes Have It

They say eyes are the windows to the soul. This week we look at some ’80s artists who used the human (and sometimes other creatures) eye to reflect their own soul, in the form of song.

Billy Idol – Eyes Without A Face (1984)

For some reason this song freaked me out as a kid. I guess I could imagine just eyes floating around, minus a face to call home. The song was enough, but than I caught the video one Friday night and then I knew the true face of fear. Floating Billy Idol head is one thing but than when you add hooded cult like women, fire, violent spraying water, Idol’s dancing, and musical clapping on butt cheeks…no wonder I’m screwed up.

 

Kim Carnes – Betty Davis Eyes (1981)

What was it about ’80s music videos? What the hell does mimes, people in zoot suits, and pirates have to do with this song let alone Bette Davis? In the “baby steps” of the music video game it seems like directors went out of the way to create the weirdest stuff just so they could cast their out of work theater friends. But you know, that’s not a bad thing. I remember this song playing on the radio a lot when it came out, and it’ll always have a place in my heart for being a tiny little instant time machine.

Eric Carmen – Hungry Eyes (1987)

Released on the Dirty Dancing soundtrack, Hungry Eyes was a huge hit because of the success of the movie. But sadly Eric Carmen didn’t become a household name. The former singer of the Raspberries, a pop-rock band from the ’70s whose biggest hit was “Go All The Way” (great song), Eric Carmen had a much bigger hit on his hands with Hungry Eyes but the shadow of Dirty Dancing was much bigger and his name kinda got lost in history.

 

Survivor – Eye of the Tiger (1982)

Another song attached to a big and successful movie, Survivor’s Eye Of The Tiger has lived on in infamy some 35 years later. This song oozes the theme of over coming the odds, and it’s a theme that will last as long as time itself…like this song. It is perfection in everyway, even down to the Guardian Angels like music video. This wasn’t the last time Survivor would appear on a Rocky soundtrack…but more on that later.

 

Naked Eyes – Promises Promises (1983)

Just to mix things up a bit I chose a band with Eye in their name. Naked Eyes was/is a British new wave band that had some mild success with a handful of songs during the ’80s. I can’t recall the first time I came across them but ever since I did they have always made their way onto my mix tapes. On a side note, glad I don’t have to explain what a mix tape is anymore…thanks Guardians of the Galaxy!

 

Peter Gabriel – In Your Eyes (1986)

Damn, maybe I should have just made this week’s F.N.V. a movie soundtrack edition. The beautiful song, In Your Eyes was released on Gabriel’s 1986 hit album So but will always be synonymous with Lloyd Dobler holding a boom box in the air to serenade Diane Court in the movie Say Anything. Both the song and the movie are true ’80s works of art, so it makes sense for them to be linked for eternity.

 

The Alan Parsons Project – Eye in the Sky (1982)

Its a real shame that was never an official video to this awesome song but I think I found one that is suitable…albeit a little trippy. Enjoy.

To catch up on these and more awesome 80s songs please check out

My Side of the Laundry Room’s YouTube Playlist!

 

Please check back every Friday at 3pm for your weekly dose of ’80s AWESOMNESS!!

11 thoughts on “F.N.V. – The Eyes Have It

  1. I love mix tapes!!! Even before ‘Guardians Of The Galaxy’ brought them back into our cultural mainstream, I loved making them. There’s so many things about a mix tape that you just can’t get with a playlist – part of it being the fact that it’s limited in size and space. With a mix tape, you have to really think about songs and order and meaning and what transitions into what and what makes the cut and what doesn’t. Honestly, i think there’s a real art to putting together a good mix tape, something we lose with the impulsivity and limitless space of an iTunes of Spotify playlist. So I’m with you man! And even though I now make mix CDs (even though I’ll still always call them a “mix tape”) I do think there’s something about the physical act of putting together an actual mix tape on a cassette – the playing/recording/pausing, the switching out of tapes, the lining up of the track, and all of that – that’s special. Whether CD or cassette, there’s just a great intimacy to the whole mix tape experience – whether you are putting them together for someone else (choosing songs for them that will tell an emotional story for the listener) or yourself (choosing songs for yourself). Music is so, so personal so from choosing songs to ordering them to putting them on the actual CD (or cassette!) there’s an intimacy there that I don’t think we find as much in other mediums. .

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a lost art form, that’s for sure. You could and needed to sum up your feelings within a allowed space of time. I know it sounds like a no brainer in the age of personal playlists but took skill and paticience and not just drag and drop.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It is a classic song that gets no respect. I wish I had more time this week to was about each one a bit more. Now that the weather is nicer my life gets more hectic, site suffers a bit and it makes me a sad panda

      Like

Leave a Reply

