Monstrous Monday – Boglins

Name: Boglin

From: Mattel Toys (1987)

Classification: A rubber hand puppet that terrorized children in the ’80s

 

photostudio_1499082551862

Have you ever felt like someone, or something is watching you? You can’t pin point where the feeling is coming from, you just know that you feel it. Every free moment you have you quietly look over your shoulder and scan your surroundings. All of a sudden your eyes meet the eyes of something unexpected. Something lurking in the corner of a high shelf, staring back at you. Your heart skips a beat in the second it takes you to realize that the creature that is menacingly looking you over is a rubber puppet.

the2l7vojt

True story, that is how I use to display my Boglin.I would also move him from time to time to different places in my living room. A few people truly hated my little buddy and hated finding him unexpectedly hiding at eye level in little nooks around my house. Now he resides in My Side Of The Laundry Room and keeps me company from a dark corner near my work bench/desk, ready to frighten whomever meets his eyes. The old dude is almost 30 now (old in toy years) and is showing his age. As a kid I wasn’t the most gentle with my toys (something I regret now). He is still structurally sound, just his rubber skin is discolored. It all just adds to his character and is drenched in memories.

20160906_124914.jpg

In 1987 Mattel decided to ride the wave created by the resurgence of “Creature Feature” movies that were rampaging through theaters and video stores in the ’80s. With the popularity of rubber monsters in films like Ghoulies, Gremlins, and Critters, Mattel created a rubber monster hand puppet that we could take home with us. The Boglins were a collection of monsters that were a hand puppets with a mechanism inside that allowed you to control their awesomely made glow-in-the-dark eyes. That seems to be the thing that unnerves “normal” people when they come across my old buddy, the eyes. They really are very well made for a toy. Besides the eyes, ol’ gruesome here is just a floppy rubber hand puppet. Awesome none the less.In it’s short time on the shelves, Mattel put out other series of Boglins. They made smaller ones without the moveable eyes, aquatic themed ones, ones with hair, and mini-Boglins that were just PVC collectables (side note: The slime PVC ones came in a plastic toilet. Little close to the mark of ripping off Ghoulies if ya ask me.).

 

The best of the other series were the Halloween themed ones. I always wanted one and after a short search on eBay, I’ll still be wanting one. Honestly they are just repainted versions, but damn they’re awesome.

boglins-halloween

Box art tells the background of the Boglins. They live in the swamp, have glow-in-the-dark eyes to help them see in darkness, and use their tails to shovel mud into their mouths to eat. Sadly, my Boglin is so domesticated that he wouldn’t last a day in the wild and also wouldn’t lower himself to eat mud.

scan00011

Heck, they even had stampers…we loved stampers in the ’80s!!

thTYUA9FE2

Here’s the commercial that ran in 1987. Enjoy the hijinks and hysteria Boglins add to any family function.

 

It truly warms my heart to see monsters as toys. We should all laugh at the things we fear and the things that lurk under our beds are no exception.

[Note from Rob: Sorry, due to the holiday I had to go into the My Side of the Laundry Room achieves and bring this Halloween gem back out. I added a couple new things along the way, of course. I had fun rereading it, so I hope you do too. Thank you.]

thX4NVZYP5

 

To See What Could Be Under Your Bed At Night!

Check Out Some Of The Past

Monstrous Mondays

And BEWARE!!

20 thoughts on “Monstrous Monday – Boglins

  1. This was in relative toys rather simple, but they were so very cool. My cousin had one and we used to use it as a Cobra weapon against the Joe’s. Great toy and those damn eyes.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I hate to say it…but you were. LOL. The appeal of a puppets wears thin quickly but these toys looked so neat that just having it on a bookshelf was cool. I think they have tried to release newer ones over the years but as always with selling nostalgia they had a high price point.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I TOTALLY FORGOT ABOUT BOGLINS BUT I USED TO HAVE ONE AND I LOOOOOVED IT!!!! This post totally made my day! I literally screamed out loud when I realized what you were writing about. I’m happy you brought these lovely little guys out for Monstrous Monday! I know this comment seems super excitable (which, in fact, it is) but I haven’t thought about these guys in DECADES. Wow…I love this. Thanks for the flashback!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They were! Walking around the toy aisles or a toy store nowadays is sad. The only cool stuff is retro toys and brands that are aimed right at our generation. There are also very cool comic book toys and such but for the price of either I’d rather buy an older toy off of eBay.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Me too!! But only a select few. Some of the new ones transform with only a flip or a very few moves. Those and the movie ones aren’t so great. The classic ones are nice and the Titan ones I think they’re called.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent post & nostalgia trigger!
    I loved my boglin & seeing his twin brother
    on your self made me smile. It is surprising
    these haven’t made a resurgence or at least
    a re-release. Nothing sends shrieks of terror
    like a boglin coming out of nowhere to nosh
    on an unsuspecting ear! Those cages could
    never keep a naughty boglin at bay for long.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I guess nowadays little kids are indoctrinated into horror movies and horror themes earlier than we were so to the kids today a rubber puppet isn’t “cool” or “scary”. I really hope that isn’t true but that’s what my gut tells me. Plus the sense of whimsy and imagination that it takes to play with a toy like this is truly lost on the kids today. I try my hardest to combat this at home with making magic, myth, and monsters an awe inspiring thing like when I was younger.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. True, it is all relative to what you expose them to, children tend to
        pay attention to things you show interest & knowledge in. Luckily
        my nephew is obsessed with mythology of all kinds, his introduction
        was the Percy Jackson series of books. His younger brother is into
        more of the worms, slugs, & bugs type of fun, so boglins would be
        perfect for him. On the same page with the magic, myth, & monsters
        ethos, those fascinations have stayed with me a lifetime. I still love
        the Dungeons and Dragons cartoon intro, gets me every time.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Me too. I always thought I was the only kid who didn’t think that idea was scary. I wanted to be whisked away to the D&D universe and fight monsters. Who am I kidding, I would want to be their friend not fight them. Your nephews sound pretty RAD too

        Like

  4. It is a real pleasure to get to introduce them (& their dad) into a lot of
    this stuff. Thanks to youtube scrying, most of these great retro intros
    are just a click away. We also do some tabletop gaming, having played
    Small World and more recently Star Realms & Hero Realms, these games
    break down the concepts of classic gaming into fun adventures where no
    two are the same (the variation in these games is pretty amazing.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

