F.N.V. – Abracadabra

Oh. magic. In the 80s we were treated to the magic of magicians like David Copperfield, Doug Henning, Penn and Teller, and Harry Blackstone Jr. Magic kits were all the rage for kids and magicians had TV specials and appeared on Johnny Carson. Hell, con man and magician Harry Anderson came into our homes weekly with appearances on Cheers before finally getting his own gig on Night Court. Those were the good ol’ days of magic before “street magic” became the hip thing. Anyway, please enjoy these awesome 80’s tunes about MAGIC and have a magical weekend.

Steve Miller Band – Abracadabra (1982)

I just had to start with this classic…I mean it’s the name of this weeks installment after all. It always seemed like this song was a classic growing up and to be honest I was surprised that it was from the ’80s and not the ’70s. Guess that’s how good the song is, it was an instant classic.

America – You Can Do Magic (1982)

America was another band from the ’70s that made a “comeback” in the ’80s. Fusing Folk music with a pop sensibility, America had a string of minor hits in the early ’70s but their biggest was 1972’s “Horse With No Name”.  By 1979 they had found their new sound and it carried them into the ’80s.

 

The Police – Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic (1981)

What a great song. On a personal note, when my wife and I started dating I made her a mix CD (in this day and age?) and “Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic” was my chance to let Sting say the words I wanted to say… without looking like a weirdo, you know. Long story short, she loved the song and we’re married now. Was Sting responsible? Who knows but this song will always have a place in my heart.

 

Queen – A Kind of Magic (1986)

There were many sides to the rock super-gods Queen. Queen could really bring the rock with their stadium anthems and had popular radio hits, but they also had a flair for the stage and the dramatic. “A Kind Of Magic” was (at least for me) one of their stage-like songs but like most of Queens music, it’s brilliant nonetheless.

Olivia Newton-John – Magic (1980)

First appearing on the soundtrack for Xanadu, Magic was number 1 on the billboard top 100 for four weeks straight (until Sailing by Christopher Cross snatched the honor away). I will go on record by saying that I love Xanadu and the ELO/Olivia Newton-John fused soundtrack….ok I said it…I feel better. This period of Newton-John came after Grease and before her Physical album makeover, so in other words…it’s perfect.

 

The Cars – Magic (1984)

Man, I love The Cars. The seem to embody everything that was awesome in the ’80s music scene. Fun, hip, arty, talented, and a great sense of humor. They hovered somewhere between good old fashioned rock music and new wave. Always was a fan and always will be a fan.

 

Megadeth- The Conjuring  (1986)

Now that I got my foot in the door with my week of metal music, I don’t feel to bad about including a metal tune here or there for the sake of my weekly subject. No official video for this song but it is to great to not include.

 

Iron Maiden – The Clairvoyant (1988)

Ditto. Another metal tune, but one that isn’t overly too metal to not be enjoyed by your run-of-the-mill rock fan. Again, no official video.

** Just want to add, it is taking everything in my power to not include Slayer’s Black Magic. Don’t want to alienate too many people that just want to have a fun time on a Friday evening. That is all **

 

To catch up on these and more awesome 80s songs please check out

My Side of the Laundry Room’s YouTube Playlist!

Please check back every Friday at 3pm for your weekly dose of ’80s AWESOMNESS!!

 

 

11 thoughts on “F.N.V. – Abracadabra

  1. Every single time I hear the song “Abracadabra” I think of this totally rad iceskating dance routine I had for this song. I was going to earn the gold at the Olympics to that routine! That I was absolutely terrible is beside the point.

    Liked by 3 people

      1. Just because there was no social media when Nancy did this doesn’t mean your idea doesn’t work. Nancy can always put on the ol’ skates, cue up some “Abracadabra” and do the routine NOW. In fact, she could even do a guest post for you featuring the video where she talks about being a rad ice skater. I’m just sayin’…I think it could work.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

