The End Of Summer Is In Sight.

I assume to most people the end of summer is something to mourn, but for me it’s a welcomed landmark. Summer is the time of year when I get the most overloaded. August is the worst of the summer months because of my job, planning and packing for vacation, and my daughter’s birthday, it is a month that seems to fly-by. The whole summer actually goes by to fast for my liking, but like I said I’ve grown to enjoy seeing it come to an end. Don’t get me wrong, I love summer weather, summer actives, and damn near everything about summer but because of my job it’s something I’ve also come to loath.

This might actually be the last time I state that I’m happy summer is coming to a close. In the next couple of weeks my daughter is starting Kindergarten. Soon the summers will be the only free time we have as a whole family since she’s beginning her academic “career”. Add that to the big pile of bummer that’s been growing since the summer began. The dark cloud of “my little girl is growing up” has been hanging low all summer as my wife and I have been getting her ready for the big “K” (Kindergarten). All the paperwork, the back to school shopping, the packed lunch planning (she’s a picky eater), the open houses at her school. For as much pride you have in your child’s growth it also a huge kick to the gut to see them get older.

Anyways…

This was a lot to say (and feel as I typed it), when all I wanted to say was – my posts may be a little spotty this month because of all the stuff going on. I’ll do my best and I’m looking forward to September to get back to all my silly toy, cartoon, and childhood posts.

Thanks for sticking with me….

Keep Being Rad and Stay Dorky,

Rob

18 thoughts on “The End Of Summer Is In Sight.

  1. Well, I don’t have any kids, but I feel you anyways 😉 I have a niece and nephew, And he is almost starting school soon!

    August used to be my favourite month living in Europe. Now in Australia, I hate it 😀 It’s the coldest, most miserable month of the year. At least in Europe, when it was really cold, you still had Christmas time to look forward to… Next year we will probably go on a 4week holiday to escape the weather!:D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I would love to do that and have often thought of it but after the “teeth pulling” of doing holiday cards with her I don’t know how it would go. I actually have to include things like “Yup, that’s it” or “That’s all I have to say” so my wife doesn’t think I’m shortchanging the cards. LOL. My daughter is VERY artistic and has a get imagination but it has to be on her terms. She is a red head after all, lol.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. See, I think the pulling teeth part of it would make it just as adorable. You can just let her say whatever we want on anything. Just throw random topics her way here and there, record what she says, type it up, then post it all in one post. And while you’re at it, have her draw a picture or two as well to include with the post 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. don’t celebrate just yet. She is the type of kid/girl that when we ask her what color is her favorite and she says “all of them”, which is a great answer but it doesn’t help when you need to make a choice lol. Oh and when you make the call it’s always the wrong color…never win, lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

