Toys I Wish I Had As A Kid – Halloween 2017 Edition

Last year I brought to you a Halloween edition of Toys I Wish I Had As A Kid and like any great slasher flick, I bring to you a sequel.

1. Count Creepyhead & Friends Play-Doh Playset (Kenner, 1984)

Who doesn’t want to make awesome monster faces with Play-Doh, then have the ability to have it ooze off?

As a kid I loved playing with Play-Doh. My Empire Strikes Back Playset is one of the toys from my youth that I hold in the highest regard. It’s actually something I miss that I wish I still had today. On the flip side of that my mother hated when I played with Play-Doh. She thought it made to much of a mess and always worried that I would get some on the carpet. When the time came for me to ask for this, it was a no-go. It’s funny, I can’t remember what fate my Empire playset suffered but I know I still feel the pain.

Lets relive the magic together and watch the commercial…

2. Mongor (LJN, 1987)

A force more ancient and evil than Mumm-Ra himself, Mongor is a goat demon with the power to feed off of fear and grow more powerful the more he feeds. Freed from his tomb by Wiley Kit and Wiley Kat, Mongor cuts a fiery swath through the ThunderCat’s ranks and proves to be the toughest foe they faced during the beginning of the first season. Finally beaten by Lion-O and his bravery (the opposite of fear), Mongor was returned to his tomb and never seen again.

The episode “Mongor” was the 20th episode of the first season of ThunderCats, which aired in 1985 and 1986. The toy didn’t come out until 1987 and proved to be not very popular due to the characters one-off appearance a year earlier and also due to its resemblance to Satan. I remember the episode vividly from when it aired because of its deep horror like tone. This is an instance where I can’t blame anyone for not having this toy. ThunderCats were waning in popularity and they lost their dominance in the toy aisle at of local department stores, so I just missed my chance at owning this beauty.

3. Scare Glow (Mattel, 1987)

Man, I love everything about this character. Glow-in-the-Dark was such an awesome feature growing up. So much in fact that still to this day I get a huge charge outta stuff that share the feature. (Hey, I just found out some of my gaming dice Glow-in-the-Dark and I was truly in awe.) At the time this figure came out there were a ton of knock-off He-Man figures in the market and a lot of them sported a skull for a head to capture some of that Skeletor money. Heck, I had a few. BUT this was an official skeleton character for He-Man to fight. No more knock-offs for our hero to crush, he was all about the real deal now.

Scare Glow was one of the last figures released in the original Masters of the Universe toy line. The toy was very popular because of his over all look and Glow-in-the-Dark feature, but little was known about him because the Filmation series was coming to a close at the time of his release. Over the years more info has come out about him as different MOTU series have included him. This is another story where I can’t really blame anyone. I remember a ton of other kids having Scare Glow but when the time came for me to hit the toy aisle he was gone.

4. Rancor (Kenner, 1983)

f2091aa41a83fd1c9e96a616acbc9ce8.jpg

A Star Wars toy in a Halloween list? Yes, The Rancor is a monster…says so on the box.

Return of the Jedi hit at the right time for me as a kid. When Empire came out I was still a little to young to be a rabid fan (even though I saw the movie multiple times in the theater), but when Return came out I was just the right age to be a super purchaser. Sadly my parents were not.

I could make a ton of Star Wars themed Toys I Wish I Had As A Kid articles. Hell, I could make one or two strictly Jabba themed.

Star Wars aside the Rancor is a great monster toy. His large hands are great at picking up most 3.75″ action figures and his mouth can open enough to crunch down on any unsuspecting victim. I still want one !

5. Stripe (LJN, 1984)

Yes, I know in the big scheme of things the movie Gremlins is a Christmas movie, not a Halloween flick. Like with Star Wars and the Rancor, monsters is monsters and monsters love Halloween.

As you can see in the website’s banner I had the Gizmo figure (?) that went along with this boss ass Stripe figure. I loved my Gizmo. He was a member of the family and like with some of my other toys at the time I made him a little room outta a shoebox so he would feel right at home. I carried him everywhere and just like Andy did in Toy Story, I wrote my name under one of his little feet (paws?). My name is still there today, so don’t get any ideas of Gizmo going home with you.

If I had Stripe he would have had the same treatment, even though he was a vile villain. He and Gizmo would have fun and put their differences aside.

I remembering seeing Stripe on the shelves in his little box and wanting him sooooo bad. I can’t remember a specific reason my parents didn’t get him for me…ugh.

5 thoughts on “Toys I Wish I Had As A Kid – Halloween 2017 Edition

  1. Weird, I must have missed that Mongor episode cuz I don’t remember that guy at all.

    I had a Rancor and it was pretty sweet until I left it outside one night and I guess some older kids found it and shot bottle rockets out of his mouth. I can’t blame them, I probably would have ended up doing something similarly stupid to it eventually anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

